Food and Wine, Anytime with Miami Culinary Tours

The older I get, the harder it is for me to host friend and family who’ve never been to  Miami. It used to be easy  peasy to impress  the 25 and under crowd with the plethora of nightlife and club scenes Miami Beach had to offer. A weekend filled with drinks, dancing and topped off with a day on the sand soaking up the sun was all you needed for a good time ( and hey, it still is).

The Miami we have now versus even five years ago boasts much more to entice visitors than just booze and beach. From Wynwood to Little Havana, Coconut Grove to South Beach-there is no longer one “it” location-you’ve got art,music,fun, and family at all points-but most importantly-you’ve got food!  But where to begin? Everyone wants to try our cafecito, croquetas, and Cuban sandwiches. This is where Miami Culinary Tours steps in and makes you look like a Miami hero! With foodie tours in Little Havana, Wynwood, and South Beach-you’re sure to get a taste of Miami-yes, the real Miami-you and your friends won’t forget.

I recently went on their South Beach culinary tour and was pleasantly surprised!  Our first stop took us to  Bolivar Restaurant where we kicked of the day with delicious sangria and empanadas. That’s the other thing-this is a WALKING TOUR, so you can burn and earn your calories as you not only get to experience different cuisine, but explore the different corners and streets of South Beach. My friends Jose Resendez and Las Gringas Blog were pretty excited about the sangria, too!

Our second stop took us to Ocean Drive, right in front of  Larios On The Beach the famed restaurant of Gloria and Emilio Estefan, Miami’s unofficial permanent Mayors. This was one of my favorite stops, because we really got the history behind Lario’s, and I felt it brought me closer to my Cuban roots as well. ( Seriously, I went home and called my Abuela that day wanting to hear more stories of when she  came to the U.S. from Cuba).

This was also my favorite meal ( I’m biased cause I’m Cuban..ha!) Savory  ropa vieja, plantain chips and garlic mojo sauce, all washed down with ( more) sangria.

 

 

Down the street we went on to, The Tides South Beach, which is known for it’s cocktails but we were treated to an excellent chicken curry couscous that is exclusive to this tour! They also passed around the different spices that were used to inspire these dishes, like turmeric. The Tides is also home to this awesome  copper bar  that was a favorite of Old Blue Eyes himself, Frank Sinatra.

After our stroll down Ocean we went to Washington Avenue…a place where I spent my early 20’s partying at CroBar and grabbing a quick bite after cause I was so tired from all the dancing….and cocktails…but mostly the dancing, I swear. Now it’s home to Block’s Pizza Deli, where they make the dough fresh every single day! Nothing is frozen, everything fresh.  We had what they call a Panouzzo which was stuffed with spinach, kalamata olives, sun-dried tomatoes, feta cheese and homemade pesto.

 

Our final stop was down scenic Espanola way, where Milani Gelateria .was there with this gorgeous wheel-of-fortune style gelato machine. I had the creme brulee, but I really wanted to dip my spoon in each one! And hey, it was pretty hot outside, so I could’ve easily stuck my head into any of these yummy gelato slots for some refreshment.

Whether you are a Miamian or visiting Miami, I definitely recommend an afternoon exploring the tastes and sights of the town with Miami Culinary Tours. Book anytime here.

Xo, Meesh

Leave a Reply

